How much is too thin and just enough beautiful

It has been too often pointed out to me that I am a fat person. ergo, I should diet. The advice comes from well meaning professors, fellow researchers, cleaning staff and strangers in the cafe you don’t know…… Weird. No, apparently this is how a normal day passes for me and other women who are out there living their lives and even slightly overweight. The moment someone sees them they are labelled as fat and therefore unattractive.Then again, I exercise when I can and simply let the remarks slide.

Here is the shocker! I choose to be Fat (I am just the side of over weight and I think I offend most people when I insist on being happy just the way I am). Raised eyebrows, here they come.

The reason; I cannot read or work, if I am hungry. I work sometimes 20 hours a day and the need to maintain focus in scientific field is pretty high or I could make costly mistakes. The instruments I need to work with cost thousand of dollars.

So, I do not diet. That is a shocker to most people who cannot fathom how can I not want to be ‘Slim and Healthy’.

The pressure to be thin grows every day on women, girls and teenagers (especially by peer groups in schools and universities), as fashion magazines continue with ads featuring thin models with size zero clothes, health magazines scream bloody murder every other day saying fat is bad etc.

FACTS: Fat is stored food in a body warding off starvation if encountered. There has been a lot of ‘studies’ on fat sponsored by slim pill companies which are then cited by magazines and other news media creating an environment where every plus sized woman is subtly harassed, pitied or sneered at.

Fact: The idea of beauty is in the eye of the beholder; Different societies have different ideas on beauty, fertility or attractiveness to opposite sex.

I am an independent enlightened woman who chooses to ignore all the well meaning advice and malicious barbs. Being a woman of science, does has its advantages.

What concerns me, is that the well meaning concerns can be handled well, by a grown woman; it may very well harm a child or teenager who has to deal with the societal pressures to conform to a certain idea of body image or beauty. Failure to get that size zero figure and spotless face causes many panic attacks around the world everyday. Open to interpretation!

 

26 thoughts on “How much is too thin and just enough beautiful

  1. luggagelady October 20, 2012 at 8:32 PM

    Happiness in one’s heart — which translates into kindness toward others — is what truly matters. Now THAT’S beautiful!! :)

  2. staysafesweetheart October 20, 2012 at 9:09 PM

    Totally relate to the concept of not being able to function properly when hungry. The world stops quite literally when I am peckish, or tired (a lethal combination). I refuse to spend my life, and look back on it, in a perpetual state of hunger whilst attempting to create a mirror image of what is ultimately a false reality!

  3. petit4chocolatier October 20, 2012 at 9:09 PM

    True beauty comes from within.

  4. Jae October 20, 2012 at 9:26 PM

    I think as long as a person isn’t obese–meaning diabetes and heart disease are knocking on the door and they can’t even move anymore–then people should lay off and mind their own business. If you’re at best an acquaintance you should mind your own business anyway. I pity some actresses and models for a horribly stressful life. I’d rather eat than starve for the sake of “beauty.”

  5. abitjuakali October 20, 2012 at 10:09 PM

    Represent! We are all beautiful wonderful people. It’s just a fact. :)

  6. Sasha Hunter October 20, 2012 at 11:52 PM

    What men prefer is not much of a point here. The point is the misguided view of people who think they know best, but in reality cannot see beyond what is disseminated by the media both print and digital, as gospel. Too, much of the research out there is biased from the moment it is started, because the people funding it want certain results.

  7. gentlygoodnight October 21, 2012 at 12:18 AM

    Wonderful post! I think we really need to change the world we live in by altering perceptions of beauty/attractiveness. When people are so unique and diverse, how can you possibly have a standard?

  8. eojsmada October 21, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    Beauty is a transcendental and only definable by itself. Since no one is perfectly beautiful, I just see everyone as various gradations of beautiful. That way everyone is beautiful in their own right.

    • Sasha Hunter October 21, 2012 at 12:33 PM

      Thank you for such wonderful thoughts.

  9. Rosemary the Chickerell Chirper October 21, 2012 at 1:47 PM

    Thanks for this; the world has gone ‘thin-mad’! I would like to be a bit slimmer than I am because I don’t feel as comfortable now but some people are comfortable being large and, if it doesn’t seem to be affecting your health, be happy. At the moment, on UK TV’s Strictly Come Dancing (Like Dancing with the Stars in US) the actress who is doing really well is the largest one on the show. She is fantastic and getting superb comments from the judges. She is light on her feet, graceful and completely in rhythm, with a lovely smile, as well – a delight to watch.

    To be honest, Sasha, I’d be more worried about your 20 hour days adversely affecting your health. I mean it kindly when I suggest that you do try to reduce your hours or you will burn out. The human body does eventually give out if it doesn’t get enough rest.

    • Sasha Hunter October 21, 2012 at 2:40 PM

      Thank you, for your concern Rosemary. I don’t regularly pull a 20 odd hours day workday but being a scientist in training is a stressful way of life. Thanks to meddling professors I have to take regular breaks in the middle too; and I sleep like dead (just an expression) every night. I have given up on getting annoyed every-time someone asks me to join a gym (as subtle as a bull in a china shop in indicating my weight); I simply pity the poor soul, smile and move on.

  10. thehappyhugger October 21, 2012 at 2:43 PM

    I loved your post. We need to learn to love ourselves no matter what anyone else thinks.

  11. withchristianeyes October 21, 2012 at 3:06 PM

    I like your post as well. I’m overweight, but I know that I am TOO overweight (not healthy, as cholesterol and BP are both a bit high – and forget about getting health insurance as an individual if you are even somewhat overweight). So it depends on one’s own body, I think. As far as looks, that also is personal. My husband thinks I’m cute and awesome, and every day I wonder why (the cute part, anyway). Ha ha ha. Anyway, it’s good to read of someone who’s fine and confident with not being like a model! When I was younger and thinner, I was never as thin as a model, but I looked great. Unfortunately, a lot of guys like super thin model types; weird.

    • Sasha Hunter October 21, 2012 at 4:01 PM

      I do wonder about the way of their thinking. So far, I am happy though.

    • Rosemary the Chickerell Chirper October 21, 2012 at 7:27 PM

      Some years ago, at a party, a group of us stood discussing the fashion for super-thin female bodies. One of the older men there said that he couldn’t understand why young men liked them. He preferred something that he wasn’t afraid was going to break when he hugged it!

  12. Aian Ramos October 21, 2012 at 6:00 PM

    I totally agree, the media plays a major role on how the society sees what beautiful ‘should’ look like. It’s all about the money I guess, forget the poor souls who would need to endure such labeling..even if it will scar them for life.

  13. djdfr October 21, 2012 at 6:31 PM

    The old saying comes to mind, “Pretty is as pretty does.”

  14. Sarah October 21, 2012 at 7:43 PM

    As long as you’re happy then that’s all that matters. :) That’s what I say to myself too!

  15. salpal1 October 21, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    I like your post – I have been overweight all my life – but when I look back at pictures, I find I wasn’t as overweight in reality as I was in my head. However, the head wins, and now it has become a problem, which I am dealing with. So your post made me think about it – if, when I was young and just not thin, people had not convinced me that I was fat, would I be?
    also – thanks for this like on my blog – which is what I stopped by to say, but I got sidetracked!

  16. Dawn Whitehand October 22, 2012 at 9:33 PM

    I agree… Women are far too often dictated to by mass media as to how they should appear for the consumption of men…. HOWEVER…. there are also health concerns. Yes fat is stored body fat if we need to face starvation, but in a post subsistence living environment this is not the case. We don’t explete out calories hunting and gathering anymore AND we have preserved foods, fast foods and McDonalds- so we need to consider the health concerns with weight. Having said that I do agree that women are under huge pressure & what society (men/advertisers) consider to be overweight is probably not a health concern only a sexist aesthetic concern. :-)

  17. Ebonie October 22, 2012 at 10:33 PM

    Great post! I think even in the medical field the standards are a bit unrealistic. After my last physical, the medical report stated that at 160 pounds I was an obesed female. (See that pic on the left? That’s exactly what I look like.) For a patient with an elevated view of themselves that might not be a big issue, but if that report was being read by someone with insecurities, it might have created more problems. It’s important that we stay health, but also define our concept of beauty and truly own the standard we set for ourselves.

    • Sasha Hunter October 22, 2012 at 10:38 PM

      Its a great view to live life with. 80% of the women I know at the moment are dieting themselves into size zero figures.

    • Rosemary the Chickerell Chirper October 23, 2012 at 4:23 AM

      Hi Ebonie,

      I think medical people set the ‘obesity bar’ too low to scare us into compliance. However, I am 163 pounds and don’t look anywhere near as good as you do but, at only 5ft 3ins tall, I’m short and you look taller, so that might explain it. I think you look great. I do look sort of dumpy and feel uncomfortable, so I am trying to lose some weight but intend stopping when I feel good again. I think it is wise to be sensible about weight and not get too arrogant about bucking the trend but not be oppressed by fashion, either.

      I have cholesterol on the high side and that’s another reason to be careful. However, if you are not having problems with your health and feel good as you are, I think there is no reason to get depressed about it. Depression can cause many more problems than being on the large side. feeling good inside is important.

      Thanks for sharing.

  18. mrtheriaultfvhs October 22, 2012 at 11:37 PM

    Cholesterol is an important component of proper brain function. There has even been research done on the negative impact of cholesterol reduction drugs on brain function. Of course there has to be a healthy balance somewhere. My bigger concern would be your lack of sleep. Sleep can really mess with your endocrine system. I know because it happen to me when I stretched and stressed myself for too long. Get some sleep young lady and thanks for committing yourself to research… what a noble calling.

  19. vironevaeh October 22, 2012 at 11:48 PM

    I think society is just more open to telling women how they ought to do things. When I first arrived at my research institution, once I mentioned my fiancĂ©, I was advised not to have children yet by several men of various ages. I never mentioned children, and in fact I don’t intend to start on that for a while. But just because I was a woman with a significant other, these men felt they should offer their helpful advice. With the way of tenure, I wonder if men feel that women just ought to wait til 40+, for their convenience.

    On the topic of weight– a few years ago I got some kind of terrible digestive disorder where I was sick all the time and lost about 20% of my weight in a year, while on a high fat diet. I felt exhausted and awful. Sooo many compliments for how great I looked, even though my BMI dropped into the underweight region. Now I’m back at my healthy weight, and these unsolicited compliments have gone. I’ll take feeling good, thanks.

    I think as long as you aren’t a large percentage away from healthy, it’s a personal thing. Maybe instead of worrying about numbers, we should examine what working conditions lead to these numbers. I don’t know if I could do 20 hour days, kudos to your work ethic.

  20. packandtravellight October 24, 2012 at 8:30 AM

    I prefer having a few extra pounds on my body. I think it’s feminine and lovely. Curves are beautiful. Stick thin is unhealthy.

Comments are closed.

into mind

a minimalist approach to personal style and wardrobe building

Lady D

* the life of a girl who lives in a city *

Crazy Hot Clothes

Vintage Revolution for Everyday Women

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

