The Annoying Meddler

Have you ever encountered someone, who is an annoying meddler. The department politics may sometime want to make you mad enough, to want to throttle that annoying colleague; maybe that friend of your boss who secretly hates your existence and want to pin any tiny mistake on you, in order to get you in trouble. A happen to have one right in my department.

Many people have their bosses pet as their nemesis; mine just happens  to be Professor who hates my guts (due to my sheer ability to switch Departments for my PhD. I have masters in A and then I switched to B for my doctorate which horrified her). She held onto that long grudge despite personally never interacting with me. She is a woman of well…..limited mind, debatable skills…..and a number of minions at her disposal who are eager to harass me at their convenience.

Science departments are still an autocracy in themselves, basically run like little dictatorship and there is only so much that I can do to counter her considering that my thesis is yet to be submitted. Can’t wait for the day I can leave this place. Open to interpretation!

10 thoughts on “The Annoying Meddler

  1. eojsmada October 22, 2012 at 11:38 AM

    I hear you. I am in the midst of having to change countries, because the policies of a certain Graduate Admissions Board are biased against those of a foreign country, even when I moved here to be with my wife who is a citizen of this country. So I have to move my wife and I to my country of origin, just so I can study in the field of my choosing and not have to settle for something else.

    And then we wonder why education systems in various countries are being called into question. You, with your dimwit…and me with mine.

  2. schelluri October 22, 2012 at 12:56 PM

    Appreciating your time in reading my blog and liking the same – as a communication professional handling power sector, was keen to put my views on need for this sector to show results and the issues its facing in India. would be happy to connect with you and also start reading your posts.

  3. melmannphoto October 22, 2012 at 8:31 PM

    Those people don’t have enough productive work to keep their idle minds active so their latent nanny mentality comes out. I do wonder whether evolution selects for meddlers although I can’t think of an ongoing advantage for such a behavior. Except for court jesters, of course.

    • Sasha Hunter October 22, 2012 at 9:42 PM

      Lol! we all need to laugh.

  4. jackie.eat.world October 22, 2012 at 8:49 PM

    This actually made me laugh out loud; some people just can’t keep their thoughts to themselves. Too bad it is always going to be around.

  5. Nicole October 22, 2012 at 8:59 PM

    Don’t people have their own life to manage?! Without trying to manage yours :D

    • Sasha Hunter October 22, 2012 at 10:43 PM

      Nope they just like to poke at others’ pies!

  6. Dawn Whitehand October 22, 2012 at 9:25 PM

    hhmmm… somehow (in my experience) I think it is not just ‘science departments’… they all gather their minions to support their despot depts – they’re actually called ‘workplace psychopaths’… and yes there has been PhDs covering this subject!

  7. diligent57 October 23, 2012 at 12:47 AM

    Indeed there are so many haters out there. However just be kind regardless because light overcomes darkness. This means that you can subdue her hate with sheer kindness and love. That’s really easier said than done, but the grace of God is the only thing that gets us past such uncomfortable situations. Don’t let nobody steal your joy and peace. Be an over comer! Hang in there and be at peace until you make your transfer. God Bless!

  8. TBM October 24, 2012 at 2:55 PM

    Good luck…some people should learn they can’t control everything. Who would want to?

Comments are closed.

into mind

a minimalist approach to personal style and wardrobe building

Lady D

* the life of a girl who lives in a city *

Crazy Hot Clothes

Vintage Revolution for Everyday Women

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

