Is homeschooling better option than public/private schooling

In the era of standardized tests and rote memorization is private or public school really a better option for your kid. I have gone through years of public school and then few years of college myself. I now work as a researcher in education.

A 2009 study found that studies show home schoolers with a better grasp of study materials on average. They show a 37 point better grasp than other school kids; a significant advantage. The benefits of going through with home schooling include more free time for kids, more opportunities for them to go out and socialize, better learning aids and personal touch to their education that is absent from the commercialized or state sanctioned education. Also, the parental encouragement keeps the kids healthy and well balanced because they forge better understanding and strong foundations in basic knowledge; nuanced learning is one advantage that these kids will always have over others.

These kids are also not bullied, they face less social pressure and less likely to fall into unhealthy habits than normal kids exposed to less than stellar teachers in public school.

Tagged: ,

17 thoughts on “Is homeschooling better option than public/private schooling

  1. katharinetrauger September 18, 2012 at 8:18 AM

    Sasha,
    If you, as a researcher, could give your references, here, in an informal way, I would be excited to reblog this to my site. Let me know if you are interested by posting a reply here. Thanks.
    Katharine

    • Sasha Hunter September 18, 2012 at 3:46 PM

      Katharine,
      I would appreciate it if you will re-blog this article; I am currently writing a small paper on the topic which I hope to expand later in a book.
      Sasha

      • katharinetrauger September 18, 2012 at 6:27 PM

        Of course, I know you know of Home School Legal Defense Association and their excellent research, and also of Dr. Brian Raye and his work for Natiional Home Education Research Institute. Still, I would like to point to the actual research you have found. Thanks.

  2. sixathome September 18, 2012 at 7:55 PM

    I unschool all six and we have PS friends. People are constantly amazed that our children are smart ,socialized and want to know how! You should definately cite sources. It goes a long way to rebuffing the ‘typical view’ of what we do.

  3. Kathy October 16, 2012 at 11:46 AM

    I think the teacher determines the quality of a homeschool education. As a school/public librarian (and a former classroom teacher), I came in contact with great parent-teachers as well as with a few whose children I wished I could rescue. My mother was always teaching me (and I taught myself), but if she’d tried formal homeschooling, I would have dug in my passive-aggressive little heels and refused to cooperate. Ironically, I never loved school, but I was a good student and public school gave me independence I needed.

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 1:04 PM

      I never loved school but I adored my friends and my biology teacher and for them I went to school everyday. I never learned anything from the rest of the teachers because I hated their teaching styles. That said I was the top student in my class b’coz I could study well on my own.

  4. katharinetrauger October 16, 2012 at 5:20 PM

    I suffered most of my institutionalized career, from not being socially savvy, not having the latest in clothing or hair style, latest toys, etc. I was what they termed a late bloomer, not “coming into my own” until after marriage. I was mildly bullied but during the days when few suffered bullying as in these days of rampant moral decay. I think “the times” are part of the huge shift to homeschool. Even in private “Christian” schools for our children, we found huge bias against non-establishment ways. But we did not withdraw for reasons of unfettered rebellion, but rather because our children were not being taught. They just, simply were not learning from their teachers. Our introvert was studying encyclopedias on his own and the extrovert was learning horrific things from peers.

    From this I realized children will learn.

    Something.

    Whatever their bent teaches them to learn.

    I say, if the home is good, the answer is home school.

    If the home is not good, the answer is to get a good home for the child, then home school.

    No one should take swimming lessons in a sewer.

    • Moss Piglet October 20, 2012 at 4:24 AM

      Hi Katharinetrauger,

      Your line “No one should take swimming lessons in a sewer.” just leapt out at me as I I did learn to swim whilst holding on to the HUGE rusty iron sewage pipe on the sea shore in front of my Scottish family home…shocking to think back, we swam in such dirty water. Pipe now obsolete, my child can swim safe. E x

      • katharinetrauger October 20, 2012 at 9:27 AM

        Wow. It truly is shocking to think back to children swimming in such. Bless you!!!

        The day will come, though, when we will be shocked to look back at what we put our children through. Is there even one school district in the U.S. where no child has been molested by a teacher? Where no child has been shot at school or on the bus? Where no child has been mentally raped with atrocious video input from some staff member?

        Yes, we will be shocked to look back, some day. Some will have survived and will say, “Hey, I went through that and I turned out okay!”

        And I will say, “So what.”

  5. devoncountrydiary October 16, 2012 at 7:58 PM

    As a former head teacher I have nothing against home schooling, or even a mix of the two although that can be problematic with continuity, however having taught in schools at the poorer end of the spectrum there was absolutely no way the parent was in a position to teach their child. I’m talking about alcoholics, gamblers, prostitutes to say nothing about the ‘pig ignorant’. The only way these kids stood a chance of breaking free of the cycle of poverty was through school, the examples of their peers and the teachers, and yes, we had to give many of the children breakfast and clothing, often from our own pockets. Schools aren’t perfect, but don’t knock them too much, for many children they work very well and offer far more than the regular curriculum.

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 9:04 PM

      I am not against schooling; in fact I prefer schools much better than home school. The problem is, I don’t find them upto my standard and god knows they are high. If I ever decide to home school my child I would be paying for the best tutors available from around the world (Which is what the schools don’t allow parents to do). I am not biased; I am unsatisfied. There is a difference.

  6. Grif October 17, 2012 at 3:30 PM

    I went to horrible schools, learnt little, and suffered bullying the majority of those 12 years. Even so, I count myself against homeschooling. It is a model which, to work well, assumes that the parents (who can also be well-informed, loving, and encouraging) can afford to knock back down to one wage – never mind the cost of tutors, resources, materials and excursions (ie museums, etc, even the local park is expensive if you remember the one wage requirement). To do homeschooling *well* need not cost the earth, but it requires a massive investment.

    Simply put, not everyone can afford it.

    To argue that homeschooling is the answer is the same problem as arguing that private schools are the answer. It is wilfully discarding the rest as “their problem” and/or irrelevant.

    Obviously there are problems with schools. To me, the answer remains to fight for better education for all (easy words, I know).

    • Sasha Hunter October 17, 2012 at 4:52 PM

      I agree with you. I also know that every parent cannot cope with the stress and the rigors of homeschooling, but several parents can surely pool their resources together. Private schooling requires endowments, trips and other expenses just as well. Nothing worth fighting for is easy, accessible or cheap. The price of cheap education is your child’s development, ability to adapt and grow and thrive. The choice is yours.

    • katharinetrauger October 17, 2012 at 5:03 PM

      But, the question was: Is homeschooling better.

      Of course, it presumes the obvious question: Do the parents actually provide a home.

      Given the means, the answer is: Yes, homeschooling is better. It was the school choice of fully 1/3 of the U.S. Presidents, Einstein, Edison, Disraeli, Dickens, Queen Victoria, Count Zinzendorf, Bessemer, Carnegie, Barton, Nightingale, and multitudes unmentioned and even more unknown.

      And for a few of the above, home life was not so very good, either.

      God put children into families for a reason: It’s where they belong, where they thrive, and where they best learn. Pity those whose families do not function properly. And for them, perhaps, perhaps, perhaps a school might be better, but statistically, THAT is not a given.

  7. Moss Piglet October 19, 2012 at 2:48 PM

    I went to a Scottish Academy which was a challenging huge place, but offered some great quality teaching; I went on to tertiary education, chosen by my self, with ease; My career lay within an archaic English Preparatory School, in a Pastoral, not Teaching, VITAL role…10 years, it was fascinating! Boys only, families distant, discipline unquestioned, quality of education exceptional, leading to Eton, Winchester and the stars! (although pupils deemed not able to ‘fit in’ were discretely whisked away).
    I got a SON; by good fortune he benefited from the BEST free Primary and Secondary Schools in my area. FAIL all the way, educationally resistant, never liked anything, sport, art nothing could tempt him, WONDERFUL teachers excelled in trying!…I just longed for the day he would be allowed to leave. Home Schooling was discussed, but I knew even this would not suit him, he had closed his door to system.
    Away from school my son educated himself via internet, finally found the Chef training that gave him a Career, Confidence and Dignity at last. He FLOURISHES…Why?
    Children adapt to whatever educational system is thrown in their path, and no one system is better. The important thing is the Family & Teacher and People & Friends behind the child, Guidance…Love and Support and Dialogue, Flexibility and Care. Being Prized to BE AND GROW as the UNIQUE INDIVIDUAL. This is the foundation stone of any educational route, which will flow as the individual makes sense of their world. People are the true providers of education and nurture, Their Quality Provides the Educational Result for our little ‘sponges’ to soak up…Make the most of the best education you can find on your doorstep..you do not need to look too far or be too fussy.
    Don’t Panic:They need a diet of both sugar & mustard, sweet and sour, to learn.
    Evelyn Atholl Moir

    • Sasha Hunter October 19, 2012 at 3:09 PM

      Thank you for the story, Evelyn. I do hope your relative gets better soon.

  8. LubbyGirl October 21, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    Interesting reading both the post and the comments. I home-schooled my kids a couple of years, had them in public school a few years, and in private school a few. They seemed to thrive the MOST in the home-schooling. They learned things in the public school that made my older one tell his dad, at age 12 and being urged to be sexually active, and seeing girls in his class pregnant, “Dad, I just want to be a kid awhile longer.” I am a definite proponent of home-schooling.

Comments are closed.

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Lady D

The Life of a Girls who loves pretty things

