The rich and the poor:The great divide

What is the difference between the rich and the poor; and when I am asking this question I am not doing so in terms of their monetary worth or counting the faults of the society which has failed them both ( I was re-watching ‘The secret millionaire’ last night and it got me thinking).

I got into a debate with one of my colleagues last night who (bless her had had a privileged upbringing while I was brought up with a comfortable but not so privileged middle class upbringing) contented that poor people steal things they shouldn’t and they have lesser moral compass than educated people or people who have jobs.  I was shocked. Mind you, the poor and the lower middle class regard the rich with the same general contempt (including referring them as morally bankrupt and general bunch of thieves).

Let me clarify. My general view of humanity in general, following orders, like law of the land is very low. Even tapping into the general gossip area around the area you live in, will tell you how many affairs your neighbors are having. People I know have been hiding many many things from people around them and the officers of the law and these are the people I know; the talented and gifted students, the college professors, the lawyers and the likes. Yet, most of them show similar failings and prejudices as the rest of the humanity.

The rich, are even worse than the middle class in general dishonesty ( I read the papers buddy) and few decent rich men and women I know, still unconsciously flaunt their lifestyle. Even then, I do not find them any morally superior as they tout themselves to be. Yes, they follow the laws; but their lawyers will take advantage of all the loopholes they can find in income tax laws and so forth and they make mistakes which have bigger impacts on others people’s lives.

So, what is the difference.

The answers is Education, and the general level of awareness and the knowledge of how the so and so event in the world will affect their lives. The rich thrive on the amount of information they possess and how to bend the events to their advantage; while the poor and the middle class are kept on the need to know basis only.

And that my dear friend, is the actual difference between the Rich and the poor.

5 thoughts on “The rich and the poor:The great divide

  1. Gene October 20, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks!

  2. wiedza i życie October 21, 2012 at 4:40 AM

    But wanna remark that you have a very nice internet site , I love the style it really stands out.

  3. kiwidutch October 21, 2012 at 11:24 AM

    It’s easy to say that everyone can better themselves but reality is that if you are working in a minimum wage job have long hours and commuting, and still only have $40 left at the end of the month after paying bills then it’s much harder to save for, and attend courses and put in the study…
    it’s so much easier if you work for a better wages, build up savings and then study.

    Sadly it’s also (often) a fact that people in the lowest income groups are probably less likely to live in an environment full of books or have a mentality in the house that such extra study is important, there can be a pervasiveness of low expectation… mental obstacles can be just as hard to overcome as physical and financial ones.

    • Sasha Hunter October 21, 2012 at 12:03 PM

      Dear Kiwidutch
      she/he who has the will, will always find a way
      she/he who does not, will always find things to blame
      life is what you make of it
      winning or losing is just a matter of perception

  4. wiedza i życie October 27, 2012 at 7:04 AM

    I’m still learning from you, but I’m making my way to the top as well. I absolutely liked reading everything that is posted on your website.Keep the stories coming. I loved it!

Comments are closed.

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Lady D

The Life of a Girls who loves pretty things

