Bored of TV

It’s official. I admit it. I hate watching TV. The reason for hating most of the television programs on the air is simple. The quality of TV has dramatically gone down. Now all the channels are busy in producing mindless crap repeated over and over by similar looking actors in similar sounding plots or similar reality shows that I have become starved for good old fashioned old shows.

There was a time when every channel used to hold on its own. While I can still tolerate occasional episode of Top Gear or Dr. Who (reruns – David Tennant was the best Doctor with his crazy antics), the rest of the TV viewing experience has dramatically reduced in both sense and style.

Where has all the talent in the TV industry gone? They can’t all have adjusted into the reality shows (most of whom are supremely annoying), or gone into the movies.

The only channels I watch with same level of interest as before are sadly the science channels. I am doomed to a life of boredom!

 

20 thoughts on “Bored of TV

  1. nova group October 15, 2012 at 6:41 AM

    I was more than happy to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks on your time for this wonderful learn!! I positively enjoying every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 1:18 PM

      Thank you for your appreciative words.

  2. tuckedintoacorner October 15, 2012 at 6:42 AM

    This sounds like something I might think/say. Recently a reader of the TV guide looked at all the programs and reality TV was dominant. I was never a big TV fan to begin with, but I find I’m moving from TV to movies and books. A good post

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 1:17 PM

      I love books more than TV nowadays. Thank you for kind words.

      • tuckedintoacorner October 17, 2012 at 5:12 AM

        Books are indeed more interesting. I find it easier to get absorbed in a book than TV

  3. Kathy October 16, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    The best thing about television is the OFF button.

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 1:00 PM

      Cheers mate! Sometimes I wish I could bash in the screen.Then I turn to Discovery science and get happy again.

  4. Little Wooden Shoe October 16, 2012 at 4:20 PM

    I so agree with you. Here is Australia they just brought back Big Brother. Here I was thinking that I would never need to hear or tolerate any of this crap anymore, but sure enough its back; like a bad ex-boyfriend who you cant stand even thinking you were together in the past. God I hate reality TV and all these stupid shows about murder and house wives!!!

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 4:39 PM

      Sure, comes back every year like bad weather. I grieve with thee!

  5. rainbow October 16, 2012 at 4:40 PM

    i guess you should try watching Korean dramas….they are really good 🙂

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 5:36 PM

      Yep and cute leading actors too! I can make do with the subtitles otherwise I am pretty good at reading body language.

  6. booksoutsidethebox October 16, 2012 at 7:44 PM

    I think I have to disagree! I feel like TV these days is at its best. I love shows like Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Downtown Abbey, Dexter, Modern Family. So much great story-telling. And agreed with @rainbow that Korean dramas are great. (PS I watch them on dramafever.com which provides all subtitles!) With all that said, books are definitely my primary source of entertainment.

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 9:11 PM

      I find I disagree; the shows you have mentioned may have been acclaimed and I can tolerate occasional episode of Dexter or Modern family but for the rest, have you examined the type of characters they portray.The quality of TV characters has gone down in recent times.

  7. karensdifferentcorners October 16, 2012 at 8:46 PM

    Good morning Sasha. Love this post. I am doing a post tomorrow about a challenge, but I talk about the dialogue from TV shows and sometimes wonder who writes their lines. I don’t get into the reality shows. I can’t understand what people see in them.

    • Sasha Hunter October 16, 2012 at 9:00 PM

      Neither can I apparently. However, some people do; people who don’t cringe away at the blatant crudity displayed in such shows.

  8. jenniburkeyoga October 17, 2012 at 7:22 PM

    I have no tv, and I certainly don’t miss having one, but everyone thinks it’s crazy 😉 Thanks for understanding!

  9. Grace October 20, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful info being shared freely out there.

  10. wiedza i życie October 21, 2012 at 5:36 AM

    I am not rattling great with English but I line up this very leisurely to understand.

  11. pendantry October 21, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    My tuppence says that with thirteen channels of shit to choose from, and a guaranteed audience of couch potatoes for each and every last one of them, the producers don’t need to push themselves.

  12. Joaquin Proffit October 25, 2012 at 6:48 AM

    I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogging and actually liked your web page. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You definitely have very good articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing your webpage.

Comments are closed.

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

INTO MIND

personal style, minimalism & the perfect wardrobe

Lady D

The Life of a Girls who loves pretty things

